top of page

Vacation (All I Never Wanted)

Updated: Sep 14, 2020

A very real sharing of my experience being unemployed during a pandemic, and how I learned to make the best of a bad situation



"We are living in historic times!" Does anyone else hear people say this and want to scream? Just me? Okay, I completely get the importance of an optimistic outlook in less than ideal situations, however, that doesn't make said situation any less ideal.


In March, I was a working actor, a fresh BFA graduate, and well on my way to the life I wanted to be living. In a matter of 36 hours, every one of my upcoming contracts was cancelled, all auditions were postponed, and I was left with no form of income, and no ability to work in my field. Sure, having a few weeks off was nice at first, but as time went on and it became more clear that things wouldn't be returning to normal any time soon, I began to feel hopeless. Worthless. And, with every passing day, I was finding my light fading.


I'm not writing this to be a sob story for myself, however. I do want to be very candid though, and make it known that even the most optimistic, outwardly happy people can enter dark times when prompted. I hope that for those reading who may relate, that I can offer support in knowing that you are not an isolated case right now, as well as offer ways to cope that helped me in this incredibly difficult time. Here's a few things I've found to bring back my light:


Ways to Boost Your Spirit Coping With a Pandemic




Go for a Walk

(I'm cringing writing this one down, as I look outside my window into the toxic, smoke-filled PNW air). But, for everyone not asked to stay indoors due to air toxicity and wildfires, this is a wonderful option. Prior to the fires, I would take my dog for a walk once, sometimes twice a day. The fresh air really helps relieve anxiety, and the exercise gives you endorphins ("endorphins make you happy..." you know the rest!). I also find that there's a lot to look at and take in when you practice mindful observation while out walking- notice your neighbors' new doormat, or that beautiful tree on the corner. Remember to pack a mask though, in case you run into anyone out on the street.




Make A Playlist

This is one of my FAVORITE ways to boost my mood! Hop on your music streaming app and start making a playlist. You can do ones with happy songs to pep you up, or workout music, or relaxing tunes. One thing I like to do is pick a POV (TikTok is seeping into my everyday life...) like the protagonist, or the bad bitch, or the cottagecore girl, and make a playlist of music you think fits that characters' aesthetic. I do this all the time for my characters as an actor so that I have something to listen to in the dressing room before shows, and it's a fun form of escapism in times like these where we'd probably all love to escape, haha. If you don't know where to start, or just want to listen to some music without all the work, I have a bunch of pre-made playlists on my Spotify account linked here.



Learn An Instrument

This isn't always accessible for everyone, if you don't have an instrument or cant afford one. But I find a lot of cheap used keyboards and guitars on craigslist, so there's hope! I learned to play piano and clarinet as a kid, so I just have those lying around to play, but my dad has a guitar he let me borrow so I could teach myself to play with all this free time. I don't know about you, but I was pretty overwhelmed learning to play at first, as I didn't even know where to start. Luckily for me, I used the Simply Guitar App (this is for iOs, but here's a version for Android). I found that in just a couple days, I was able to tune, strum, and play several chords- I was even starting to read chords and play popular songs!



Get Organized

Organizing and purging stuff is one of my least favorite things to start, but one of my favorite things to finish. I know it can be totally daunting to go through that messy closet or overflowing desk drawer, but I promise you, you will feel so much better when you have only what you need exactly in its place. I recommend taking it one step at a time- pick one drawer, or one shelf, or one corner, and make it your goal to get it exactly how you want it. Then, move on to the next one. Sooner than you think, you'll find your space is clean and you feel better. For me personally, I love to play music while I work and make it an excuse to have a dance party with all of the things I'm picking up (great opportunity to enjoy those playlists you made, right?!)



Learn to Live More Sustainably

Now more than ever, it's absolutely imperative that we all reduce our contribution to global climate change. In recent years, our government has sought to undo every environmental law passed into effect, claiming "climate change is a hoax". However, just a few examples of climate change in 2020 include the entire continent of Australia being on fire, the wildfires consuming the West Coast of North America, and the fact that we've officially set a record for the most named hurricanes set to make landfall in recorded history. This is very real, and every bit our responsibility. This is a great opportunity to practice reducing waste, using reusable products instead of disposable (things like diapers, sandwich bags, straws, cups, etc. all have had reusable options for decades that are better for the environment and cheaper for you in the long run). Reduce your consumption of plastic products wherever and whenever you can (glass, wood, metal and paper are all better options). Practicing composting is also a wonderful option to reduce waste. Consider switching to a plant-based lifestyle- not just eating vegan, but truly cutting out on your animal consumption. Animals are often treated horribly in the meat and dairy industry, and the emissions given off are shocking. Other wonderful options are taking up biking and walking rather than driving for short-distance travel if you can- its wonderful exercise, fun to do, and you're helping save this planet we inhabit!




Learn to Cook

Cooking can be healing in many ways. Not only is the act of making the food fulfilling, but eating it gives you the fuel to keep going and feel good. If cooking is new to you, start with recipes you find online (I have a bunch of dairy free-gluten free recipes on my Pinterest here ). If you're a wiz in the kitchen, I recommend challenging yourself in some way creatively- whether that be making healthier substitutions to your classic recipes, working on your presentation, or theming dinners off of your favorite movies- find a way to push yourself and learn something new. You can document the foods you make along the way, and you'll end up with a fun new recipe book to enjoy or share with others!



Adopt a PenPal

This may sound old-fashioned, but writing letters is making a comeback in 2020. Whether it's because we're all simply "that bored" or that we've made stationary with the dried flowers we picked in spring, there's no bad reason to send a friend some happy mail. It's a great excuse to work on your handwriting (since we all know we basically type everything anyway), and you can include fun stickers or drawings you make as an added bonus. Not only does it keep correspondence more exciting, but by purchasing stamps, you're actually helping fund USPS in these crazy times we're in (and they need all the help they can get right now!)



Practice Meditation

As a sufferer of chronic anxiety my whole life, I know how stressful external situations can exacerbate an already busy mind. Between the pandemic, all the climate change-induced natural disasters, and the looming tension of it being an election year, it's about all I can do to stay calm just going to my mailbox some days. I find that practicing meditation has been a huge help in my life. There's lots of resources to help you get started, if you're totally new, I recommend following a guided meditation like this one until you get the hang of it. ALSO- if you have trouble sleeping, my all-time favorite channel for guided sleep meditation is Jason Stephenson's on Youtube- he's wonderful.



Become a Film Scholar

As someone who took multiple film studies classes in college, I can tell you that the film industry is one of the most interesting things to study. From the history of film, to the production and techniques, to the varying genres and styles of different directors- there's so many areas you can deep-dive into. Start with the basics of the history and technique of filmmaking- then choose a genre or director you want to study more in-depth. Study their style- who do they typically cast over and over, who writes their soundtracks, and what techniques of filmmaking that you've learned about they've applied heavily in their films. Some great directors to study styles are: Tim Burton, Stephen Spielberg, Alfred Hitchcock, Quentin Tarantino, Wes Anderson, and Jordan Peele, to name a few. You'll find that you have a newfound appreciation of the movies you watch.



Grow a Green Thumb

Some may tell you that you either have a green thumb or you don't, but that's a lie. Oftentimes, it's simply that you don't know enough about the plants you're caring for. Take a look around your room, and observe where the windows are, how much sunlight is let in, and where that sunlight lives. If you put a sun-loving plant in the shady corner of your room, you can expect it to be unhappy. One of the biggest causes of plant death is actually overwatering (yes, you're loving your plant to death). Overwatering and not enough drainage can cause root rot, so if you're watering your plant regularly and it's looking sad- leave it alone! There are so many resources on plant care out there, but one of my favorites is the Planta App that helps you identify, care for, and schedule routine maintenance of your beautiful green babies.



Be An Ally

Last, but definitely not least, work on being a better ally for others. Right now, so many people are in danger because of systemic racism, homophobia, and sexism in our country. Do your research online, read articles and stories from marginalized voices, find films, TV shows, and music written and starring marginalized voices, and look into causes that provide aid for these groups. There's plenty of places to donate money, time, and just kind words to right now. Practice being an active listener in conversations regarding systemic marginalization. Contact your local and state government officials. Volunteer to work a voting station in the upcoming election- they desperately need our help. And- PLEASE- be an informed voter and cast your ballot early this year!



I hope that you are able to find some healing in these difficult times- just know that you are never alone. Mental health is so, so, SO important right now- if you need to talk to a mental healthcare professional, there are many wonderful people out there who can offer you support. If you are feeling like you are in danger, there are prevention resources to help you here. There are many people out there who care about you and your wellbeing. Take care of yourself physically, mentally, and spiritually- and please, wear a mask when you go out. Stay safe my friends!


Much love,


Katie

38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page